2014 Doomben Cup Nominations Released

April 30th, 2014

A classy list of 27 runners has been nominated for an appearance in the 2014 Group 1 Doomben Cup (2000m) in Brisbane on May 17th, including several standout performers of the 2014 autumn season.

Gerald Ryan has included Streama in nominations for the 2014 Doomben Cup

Gerald Ryan has included Streama in nominations for the 2014 Doomben Cup. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia

Confirmed to retire into a career as a breeder at the conclusion of her 2014 winter preparation, trainer Gerald Ryan has nominated Streama for a tilt at the 2014 Doomben Cup.

A standout performer of each campaign she has logged, Streama has claimed three major Group 1 titles over her 32 competitive starts; contesting a total of eight victories and thirteen places.

Particularly strong over the 2013 racing calendar, the Stratum mare finished outside the places just twice in ten appearances, winning the Group 1 George Main Stakes (1600m) most notably on September 21st.

While yet to break through for a victory over five starts this time in, Walter is confident Brisbane will deliver a final Group 1 title for Streama this season, and is particularly confident of success in the Doomben Cup,

A standout performer of the in-form Team Hawkes stable in 2014, Leebaz has been nominated for an appearance in the Group 1 Doomben Cup.

Claiming five wins and two places from only eight competitive starts, Leebaz is unlucky not to have registered a perfect run of three wins from as many starts this time in, having won each of his first two races with ease before displaying a keen turn of foot to finish second in the Group 3 Doncaster Prelude (1500m) last time out on April 5th.

Confirmed for a lead-up run in this weekend’s Group 3 Hawkesbury Gold Cup (1600m), the Hawkes’ are confident of a maiden victory at the highest level of Australian racing for their sole entrant in the 2014 Doomben Cup.

Trainer Peter Moody has elected to nominate three of his stable for appearances in the Doomben Cup, with little-know U.S. import Kitten On The Run joining Fat Al and Floria.

Contesting events in Italy and Great Britain prior to landing in the care of Moody in 2013, Kitten on The Run has been impressive over five minor events in 2014, but will undoubtedly face his biggest test to date in the Group 1 Doomben Cup.

Winner of the Listed Golden Mile during the Bendigo Racing Festival in March 15th, Fat Al has been included in nominations for several events over the 2014 Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival and will be offered good chance of success in the Doomben Cup if offered a favourable barrier.

Unlucky to finish second in the Group 2 Queen Of The South Stakes (1600m) at Morphettville last time out, Floria was a standout performer for Moody over the 2013 winter; finishing second in the Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes (1400m) before displaying a keen turn of foot to finish third in the Group 1 Tattersall’s Tiara (1400m).

One of seven Chris Waller-trained nominees for the 2014 Doomben Cup, Moriarty has arguably been one of the most consistent performers over major events in 2014; running third in the particularly well contested Group 2 Apollo Stakes (1400m) and fourth in the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) most notably.

Ladbrokes.com.au is currently offering the best early odds on all major Group 1 races over the 2014 winter carnival, including the Doomben Cup!

Open an account deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to claim a bonus bet of up to $250 in time for the Doomben Cup!

2014 Doomben Cup Nominations

# Horse Trainer
1 AKZAR (IRE) Darren Weir
2 ANGEL OF MERCY Gerald Ryan
3 COOLDINI Robert Smerdon
4 DANCHAI (GB) Chris Waller
5 ELMANTOSH Bruce W Hill
6 FAT AL Peter G Moody
7 FLORIA (NZ) Peter G Moody
8 FLYING HOME Barry Baldwin
9 FULL OF SPIRIT Peter G Moody
11 HERA (NZ) Kris Lees
12 IGGI POP (NZ) John Sargent
13 I’M IMPOSING (GB) Chris Waller
14 JUNOOB (GB) Chris Waller
15 KITTEN ON THE RUN (USA) Peter G Moody
16 LEEBAZ (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
17 LUCKY CHAPPY (IRE) Chris Waller
18 MORIARTY (IRE) Chris Waller
19 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher
20 PERFECT START (NZ) Wayne Hillis
21 PRETTY PINS (NZ) John P Thompson
22 SCAPOLO (NZ) Kevin Myers
23 SLOW PACE (USA) Kris Lees
24 STREAMA Guy Walter
26 VILANOVA (NZ) Chris Waller
27 WALDPARK (GER) Anthony Freedman