Doomben Cup 2012 Won By Mawingo

May 19th, 2012

German import Mawingo has beaten odds-on favourite Manighar despite a protest in today’s Group 1 $500,000 2012 Doomben Cup.

Trained by Anthony Freedman, Mawingo got into a good position early in the race and delivered on his much-hyped potential to bolt home ahead of Lights Of Heaven and the favourite.

Manighar’s trainer Peter Moody protested after the race on the grounds that Mawingo’s jockey Nash Rawiller had interfered with Manighar’s run as the horses passed the first post.

“Rawiller took my horse’s rightful running and then enabled his horse to get the gun run,” Moody said.

The incident occurred with 1700 metres left to run in the race and the stewards were not satisfied that had the interference not occurred Manighar would have finished in front of Mawingo.

Freedman said he was not previously convinced that Mawingo was a weight-for-age contender but was pleased to score his first Group 1 win as a trainer.

“I don’t think you really know with these horses until you get training them,” Freedman said.

“I wasn’t convinced he was a weight-for-age horse but he’s done a good job today.”

Mawingo will now be spelled until the spring which will see him targeted towards the Caulfield Cup.

“I’m inclined to probably give him a break now and concentrate on the spring.”

The Doomben Cup may be over for another year but the Brisbane Carnival is just getting underway so head to for the best in winter betting.

First time user? Quote the code BONUSBET when signing up to take advantage of their amazing $300 bonus bet offer!

Doomben Cup 2012 – Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 9 MAWINGO (GER) Anthony Freedman Nash Rawiller 5 59kg $8
2 11 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter G Moody Damien Oliver 0.2L 6 57kg $8
3 1 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 2L 1 59kg $1.75F
4 2 SCENIC SHOT Daniel Morton Shane Scriven 3.3L 4 59kg $31
5 13 FIBRILLATION Tim Martin Brenton Avdulla 3.5L 2 57kg $26
6 3 TRIPLE HONOUR (NZ) Robert Heathcote Damian Browne 4.8L 12 59kg $61
7 10 SHEZ SINSATIONAL (NZ) Allan Sharrock Opie Bosson 5.6L 11 57kg $6.50
8 5 BOOMING (NZ) Jeff Lynds Jeff Lloyd 6.9L 3 59kg $81
9 6 FORETELLER (GB) Chris Waller Corey Brown 7.1L 9 59kg $11
10 7 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson Glyn Schofield 7.4L 10 59kg $151
11 8 MR LIGHT BLUE Barry Baldwin Timothy Bell (a) 9.2L 7 59kg $151
12 4 WALL STREET (NZ) Michael Moroney Jim Byrne 11.7L 8 59kg $31