2012 Doomben Cup Nominations

April 26th, 2012

The field for the 2012 Doomben Cup is shaping up nicely with the possibility of a rematch between current staying powerhouses Manighar and Americain on the cards after both horses were nominated.

The Group 1 Doomben Cup (2,020m) is one of the premier staying events of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, so it is no surprise that it has attracted a total of 45 nominations from quality horses.

Melbourne Cup winners Americain and Efficient have been nominated, as well as current star stayer and multiple Group 1 winner Manighar. Recent Autumn winners Western Symbol and Mawingo are also in the mix.

Veteran galloper Scenic Shot has also been nominated and will be looking for a third Doomben Cup win after previously taking the race out in 2009 and 2011.

This year’s Doomben Cup will be run on Saturday 19 May 2012 at Doomben Racecourse in Brisbane.

Going to have a bet on the Doomben Cup or any races during the Brisnbae Winter Racing Carnival? If yes then open a bookmaker.com.au account today. At bookmaker.com.au you will get great horse racing betting features like best of the best, early fixed odds, top tote and more. Plus join today with the bonus code BONUSBET and when you make your first deposit it will be matched instantly as a bonus bet, worth up to $300!

Doomben Cup 2012 Nominations

# Horse Trainer
1 ABSOLUTELY Michael Kent
2 ADROITLY Peter Snowden
3 AGENT BAUER Gwenda Markwell
4 AMERICAIN (USA) David Hayes
5 BOOMING (NZ) Jeff Lynds
6 BRIGHTEST Guy Walter
7 COUNT ENCOSTA John P Thompson
8 DIAGO Liam Birchley
9 DOMESKY Michael Kent
10 EFFICIENT (NZ) Robert Hickmott
11 EXTRA ZERO David Hayes
13 FORETELLER (GB) Chris Waller
14 GALIZANI John P Thompson
15 GATHERING John P Thompson
16 GINGA DUDE (NZ) Graeme Boyd
17 HERCULIAN PRINCE (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
18 HUEGILL Peter G Moody
19 IGGI POP (NZ) John O’Shea
20 IRONSTEIN Gerald Ryan
21 ISOPACH John P Thompson
22 JIMMY CHOUX (NZ) John Bary
23 LARISTAN (FR) David Hayes
24 LIGHTS OF HEAVEN (NZ) Peter G Moody
25 MANIGHAR (FR) Peter G Moody
26 MAWINGO (GER) Anthony Freedman
27 MISS KEEPSAKE (NZ) Joseph Pride
28 MOURASANA (GB) Michael Moroney
29 MR LIGHT BLUE Barry Baldwin
30 PEPPERWOOD Liam Birchley
31 RANGIRANGDOO (NZ) Chris Waller
32 SAINT ENCOSTA John P Thompson
33 SCENIC SHOT Daniel Morton
34 SECRET ADMIRER Grahame Begg
35 SHAMARDASHING John P Thompson
36 SHEZ SINSATIONAL (NZ) Allan Sharrock
38 SKYERUSH Guy Walter
39 THE VERMINATOR Chris Waller
40 TRIPLE HONOUR (NZ) Robert Heathcote
41 TYCOON’S HEART David Kelly
42 VIKING HERO Michael Moroney
43 WALL STREET (NZ) Michael Moroney
44 WESTERN SYMBOL (NZ) Gai Waterhouse
45 ZA MAGIC Brian Smith